Community Centres and Halls Start Phased Reopening

3 years ago | by

Cavanbah Centre

Community Centres and Halls managed by Coffs Harbour City Council will begin a phased reopening of services from Saturday, June 13, following the easing of restrictions by the NSW Government.

The safety and wellbeing of customers, staff and volunteers remains Council’s top priority and appropriate measures will be in place.

According to the NSW Government’s directive, Community Halls can be reopened from June 13 for three specific purposes:

(a) to provide a service to assist vulnerable members of the public, including, for example, a food bank or a service providing for the needs of homeless persons, or

(b) for counselling and support group services, or

(c) as an early education and care facility.

Capacity must not exceed one person per four (4) square metres, including staff members.

The following facilities will reopen from June 13:

  • Community Village meeting venues, including the Cavanbah Centre and Seminar Hut;
  • Toormina Community Centre;
  • Lowanna Community Hall;
  • Coramba Hall;
  • Woolgoolga Community Hall;
  • Eastern Dorrigo Community Hall (Ulong); and
  • Lower Bucca Community Hall.

The Jetty Memorial Theatre remains closed pending further NSW Government advice on theatres.

The following hygiene and safety measures will apply at the reopened venues:

  • Social distancing rules to be followed;
  • Perspex sneeze guards installed at customer service points;
  • Hand sanitiser stations made available;
  • Signage displayed with COVID-19 safety messages;
  • Kitchen facilities will remain closed at this time. Disposable cups will be available; and
  • We ask that people please stay home if they are feeling at all unwell.

For information about changes to Council services and facilities, visit our Coronavirus Update page on our website. Council will continue to monitor advice from the NSW and Federal Health Departments and will keep the community updated.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email