Still: National Still Life Award 2019 – Announcement of Finalists

4 years ago | by

Gerry Wedd, Vanitas 2019 Ceramics

The shortlist has been revealed for Coffs Harbour Regional Gallery’s STILL: NATIONAL STILL LIFE AWARD 2019 with 56 artists selected from a record number of entries from artists all over Australia.

“Of the finalists selected, 14 are from an area stretching from the Northern Rivers to Port Macquarie highlighting the vibrant regional arts scene,” said Cath Fogarty, Gallery Coordinator. “The artworks include sculpture, painting, ceramics, printmaking, photography, installation and video – highlighting the great diversity of approaches to the still life genre by contemporary artists in Australia. The exhibition of finalists will be thought-provoking and engaging, prompting visitors to consider the various meanings of still life while enjoying the highest quality contemporary Australian art.”

The winner will receive $30,000 prize money and the winning artwork becomes part of the Gallery’s collection.

The popular People’s Choice voting will take place from September 20, 2019, until November 1, 2019, giving locals the chance to vote for their favourite artwork. The People’s Choice Award will be announced on November 7.

The 2019 Finalists are: Phil Alldis, Louise Allerton, Kelly Austin, Sue Bell, Stephen Bird, John Bokor, Sara Bowen, Janine Brody, Kelcie Bryant-Duguid, Fran Callen, Brett Canet-Gibson, Carol Christie, Christine Courcier-Jones, Madeleine Cruise, Fiona Currey-Billyard, Michael Cusack, Jo Darvall, Sally Davis, Rachel Doller, Kate Dorrough, Christine Druitt-Preston, Scott Duncan, Helen Earl, Michele Elliot, Ben Fayle, Sharman Feinberg, Robert Fenton, Honor Freeman, Corrie Furner, Salvatore Gerardi, Jane Gerrish, Warwick Gilbert, Myfanwy Gullifer, Andrew Hickinbotham, Sally Hook, Julie Hutchings, Susan Jacobsen, Jane James, Susan Knight and Trevor Mein, Suzanne Knight, Catherine Lane and Linelle Stepto, Marie Mansfield, Donna Marcus, Nicola Moss, NOT, Victoria Reichelt, Ignacio Rojas, Daniel Sherington, Asahi So, Stephanie Theobald, Gerry Wedd, Greg Weight, Jo White, JP Willis, Amanda Wolf, Christopher Zanko

“We’re also delighted to welcome back sponsors saso creative, Moving Art, Bryant McKinnon Lawyers, along with the Gallery’s new sponsors the Friends of the Gallery and Andrew Peace Wines,” added Ms Fogarty.

The judge for the 2019 award is the highly-respected Director of the Shepparton Art Museum (SAM) Rebecca Coates.  SAM is a regional gallery recognised for its significant collection of Australian ceramics and a growing collection of outstanding contemporary Australian art

The Still exhibition of finalists opens on Friday, September 20 2019, with the official opening on Saturday September 21. It will run until Saturday, November 30 2019, and includes an exciting program of events and workshops.

(Image above – Gerry Wedd, STILL Finalist, Vanitas 2019 Ceramics)

Print Friendly, PDF & Email